Vegan palak paneer

Listen, y’all know I love cheese more than my luggage. But sometimes, especially after an epic cheese-fest, I recognize the need to cut back. A little. I stumbled across this recipe for vegan palak paneer on Food 52 and thought “Well, I think I hate tofu, but with curry…”

Turns out, curry covers everything – I actually like this dish just as much, if not more, with tofu vs paneer (plus, tofu is easier to find.) Even better, I discovered recently that the tofu isn’t even necessary! Less palak paneer then and more…Indian creamed spinach?…not the same ring, but still delicious.

Delicious Indian dinner - Indian BBQ pork, vegan palak paneer, cauliflower rice and naan.
Delicious Indian dinner – Indian BBQ pork, vegan palak paneer, cauliflower rice and naan.

Especially since this was part of a larger Indian dinner, I figured the protein wasn’t needed. I also used fresh spinach because I got a great deal at the Costco, but would absolutely use frozen in this unless you hit a sale. (2.5 lbs, for real, is a lot of spinach.) One last note on coconut milk – I have discovered, as of late, the magic that is full-fat coconut milk. It’s so…CREAMY. Which sounds dumb and obvious, but I swear, it’s a little mind-blowing. So since you’re being so good about eating your greens – and coconut oil is health food and all – I’m saying go for it.

You’ll need:

  • 2.5 lbs of fresh spinach or 4 10 oz bags of frozen spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry (you are cooking the spinach quite a bit, so frozen is really fine here.)
  • 2 15 oz cans coconut milk (I prefer using at least one full fat, as it really adds to the creaminess of the dish)
  • 1 block extra firm tofu, cubed – optional (I have included it in the past, but didn’t here as I served it with another protein.)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T fresh ginger, minced
  • 3 T curry
  • salt and pepper to taste

Get cooking:

  1. If using fresh spinach, cook in batches until wilted down, squeezing as much excess water from cooked spinach as possible. If using frozen, defrost and squeeze out as much water as possible. Set aside.
  2. Heat coconut oil over medium heat, and saute onion until browned, 8-10 minutes.
  3. Add other spices and cook 2-3 minutes.
  4. Add spinach back in, along with coconut milk and tofu (if using). Simmer for 10-15 minutes.
  5. Serve over rice with naan.
Leave a Reply

