Cauliflower rice

I find myself, in general, super skeptical of fad diets. Oh don’t misunderstand – I’m not judging. I’ve tried the Jillian Michales 7-day detox water, whipped up more than one green smoothie and hopped on the spiralizer train. I’ve done chocolate brownie date bites and powdered peanut butter and, in fits of complete self-loathing, stevia brownies.

Some of these things have been total disasters (stevia’s aftertaste makes me very skeptical of its natural claim), but others were a pleasant surprise. (The brownie bites, while not brownie-ish at all, were nevertheless good, slightly chocolatey and imparted a fair amount of energy.) Spiralized veggies and spaghetti squash can be pretty good in certain dishes, and I’ve even found tolerance for the occasional green smoothie (though I’m always scavenging for a snack by 10.) Cauliflower rice was another fad I was prepared to hate. But the man loves him some fried rice, and while I’m really good about veggies in my diet, he is…less so.

Delicious Indian dinner - Indian BBQ pork, vegan palak paneer, cauliflower rice and naan.
Delicious Indian dinner – Indian BBQ pork, vegan palak paneer, cauliflower rice and naan.

Turns out, we like it a lot! (In fact, it was declared “one of the best thing to ever come out of my kitchen” from a man who would eat Cincinnati chili and shells and cheese until the end of time.) Like veggie ‘noodles,’ I would argue it’s no replacement for the real thing – but when you’re using rice as a vehicle to sop up something else – like in the Indian feast pcitured above – it’s perfect.

You’ll need:

  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped roughly
  • 2 T oil of choice (cater to cuisine)
  • 3-4 T spices as needed
  • A food processor

Get cooking:

  1. Pulse cauliflower florets in food processor until pebble-sized.
  2. Saute in oil for 7-10 minutes, checking texture (this is really a preference thing, however done you like it is how done it should be).
  3. Add in spices of choice and saute 1-2 more minutes.
  4. Serve with…anything!
Leave a Reply

