Spice cake trifle

It doesn’t matter how long you’ve baked, or how much you’ve baked – everyone has their disasters. Some are recipe failures, some are cook failures, most are some combination of both. I was attempting to make a snickerdoodle bundt cake (I know, right?!) and I pulled it out of the oven – beautifully browned, clean toothpick – only to invert it and have it completely fall apart. Apparently the only part of the cake that was actually done was the part I stuck my toothpick in. But I had pitted 2 cups of dates for that bad boy (note to self: pitted dates are worth the extra cash) AND added some salted caramel sauce (or, you know, insult to injury.) I was not about to let my work go to waste. So, I spread the cake (about 1/4 of it done, the rest goo) onto a cookie sheet and baked it flat. And baked and baked and finally (about 40 minutes later) I had an incredibly moist but ugly sheet cake. Which I then crumbled up with salted caramel honey Greek yogurt and candied pecans. Turns out, this was one of the best things I’ve ever done. It was delicious, relatively light and just this side of absolutely addicting.

Spice cake trifle
Layer of cake, layer of creamy, layer of crunchy/sweet – dessert is done!

This is less about a recipe and more about a method. I’ll tell you what I did here, but honestly, you could take any cake (or muffin – breakfast trifle anyone?), any kind of filling (Greek yogurt was actually really good, pudding would be delightful) and some kind of fruit or nut (those pecans will change your life), layer it up in a clear bowl and shazam! You have dessert.

You’ll need:

  • 1 recipe of your favorite cake
  • 1-2 containers Greek yogurt (large), whipped topping or pudding (you can make instant for this, I’d use 2 boxes)
  • 1 pound of your favorite nuts, or 3-4 cups of your favorite fruit (I’d use fresh here)

Get cooking:

Layer 1/3 cake, cream and fruit/nut combo in a clear bowl. Repeat two more times. Serve with a long spoon (so people can get at all the layers.)

Combo ideas:

Breakfast

  • Your favorite muffin (cranberry, blueberry, apple, even chocolate)
  • Greek yogurt (fruit flavored or vanilla)
  • Fruit and/or granola

Chocolate lovers

  • Chocolate cake (seriously, it can be a box, or brownies even!)
  • Whipped topping mixed with chocolate pudding
  • Dark chocolate almonds

Snickerdoodle

  • Spice cake
  • Salted caramel yogurt or cheesecake pudding
  • Cinnamon sugar pecans

Fruit frenzy

  • Angel food cake
  • Whipped topping and vanilla pudding (or yogurt)
  • Berry blend (Strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries)

 

Leave a Reply

