Terrific Thai chicken pizza

So big shocker, the small town where we grew up did not have a Thai restaurant. In fact, the Chinese buffet in the next town over that opened during high school was a huge deal. Any other Asian restaurant of any kind was at least 40 minutes away. Which means my first experience with anything resembling authentic Thai cuisine didn’t happen until a few years ago. My friend Amanda actually made an incredible Thai feast during one of our marathon cooking days – lettuce wraps and a Thai noodle dish with a peanut sauce. I love the marriage of the sweetness and the heat, and peanut butter! In a sauce! I thought this was brilliant.

David was a bit more…apprehensive. But another friend made the most amazing peanut sauce for dipping chicken skewers and he seemed to enjoy that, so I thought I could combine all the flavors I love about Thai food in a dish he loves – pizza. It was a total win. Peanut sauce makes up the base, and the toppings are what you mind find in a Thai curry. These are what I like, but feel free to add your own.

You’ll need:

Peanut sauce base

  • ½ can coconut milk
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • 2 jalapenos, diced
  • 1 T ginger, minced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 scallions, diced
  • 1 T soy sauce

1 crust, whatever you like. (I love this crust – I mean, REALLY love it, it’s perfect every time – and I sub in whole wheat flour when I can.)

Toppings

  • Shredded chicken
  • Bell peppers
  • Scallions
  • Shredded carrots
  • Mozzarella
  • Cilantro
  • Peanuts
  • Sweet Asian chili sauce, to drizzle

Get cooking:

  1. Combine ingredients in peanut sauce together in a small saucepan and boil for about 15-20 minutes, until sauce is reduced by about ⅓.
  2. Spread sauce on crust, add all toppings (except for peanuts, sauce and cilantro) and bake for 15 minutes, until crust is cooked through.
  3. Add peanuts cilantro and drizzle with chili sauce.
  4. Eat. And eat some more.
Leave a Reply

