David’s favorite – Fettuccine Alfredo

Everyone grows up having that one “dish” they love. I have a few – my dad’s roast, my mom’s carbonara. My dad’s steak is so good we call it “daddy steak,” and I refused to order restaurant steak until I was well into my 20s (and still only do about once a year.) David’s was his mom’s “beef paprika” – basically a spin on beef stroganoff that uses a tomato-based sauce. I tried to make it at least 3 or 4 times – now understand, I know my way around a kitchen and this is not a complicated recipe – but I could not get it right! It wouldn’t thicken up right, or the flavor would be off – so very odd. So I did what any self-respecting cook does – I stopped cooking it and went to work creating a new favorite dish for him. Not to replace his mom’s, but so that he could at least have one awesome thing he loved that I could actually make him. Not only did I succeed, but this is one of the easiest dishes I make. On the nights I really want to wow him, I make homemade pasta – but the stuff from the box makes this a super fast meal choice.

You’ll need:

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic, diced (ahem, or more. You know, whatever bakes your cookies.)
  • 1 medium red onion, diced
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced (optional)
  • ½ cup white wine
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup shredded Parmesan
  • 2 heads broccoli (optional)
  • 1 pound pasta
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 T basil
  • 1 t thyme

Get cooking:

  1. Boil pasta according to your tastes (I like a good bite in mine, David prefers a little less al dente.) About two minutes before pasta is done, add broccoli to steam in pasta water. Drain pasta/broccoli and add to sauce.
  2. For the sauce, saute garlic, onion and chicken (if using) in butter/olive oil over medium to medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.
  3. Deglaze with wine and let reduce for 1-2 minutes, then add cream.
  4. Once it comes to a boil, add Parmesan cheese and let melt. Add pasta/broccoli to sauce, heat through another minute and add seasoning. Serve it up on a huge plate with extra cheese for the top.
Leave a Reply

