Splendid Butternut Squash Soup

I’m sure this recipe was inspired by someone, somewhere, but I’ve honestly been making it for so long that I couldn’t tell you where. The first winter David and I were married, we lived right by a local place called Horrocks that sells incredible produce for a great price. Kind of like an indoor farmer’s market, it was right down the road from our first apartment, and I bought a LOT of our veggies there. The problem (that still continues to be a ‘problem’ for me, let’s be real) was discerning how to only cook/buy food for two people. Case in point – for a few weeks that winter, all squash varieties were on sale for 19 cents a pound. 19 cents!!! Are you joking???? I bought a ton. A TON. Of squash. We had squash, I kid you not, every night for two weeks, until David finally begged me to find a new vegetable. But this soup is one of the creations that came out of it, and I continue to get compliments. The key, I tell everyone, is in the apples – it adds the perfect amount of sweetness. This is great side dish or is hearty enough for a meal on its own.

You’ll need:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed with seeds removed
  • 1-2 apples, cored and cubed (You can peel if you want, but you don’t have to – also, the number depends on how sweet your want your soup.)
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 T thyme
  • 1 T rosemary
  • 1 T herbes de provence or basil
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t cardamom
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1 t curry (Optional – I like it, but that’s me.)
  • 1 t brown sugar (Again, I prefer just the sweetness of the apple, but it’s up to taste.)
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 box chicken stock

Get cooking:

You can do this two ways:

1. Combine everything but the stock on a baking sheet, mix well, and roast at 450 under squash is tender. Boil chicken stock, add roasted veggies and puree with immersion blender until smooth. Heat until bubbling and serve. (I like it topped with goat or blue cheese, but again, just me.)

2. Saute squash, apples, onion and garlic in oil for 5-10 minutes (you’ll want to make sure you chop them smaller for this), add spices and stock and then boil until everything is tender – blend and serve like above.

2 thoughts on “Splendid Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

