Tilapia packets

So, my summer officially started about a week ago, and I’ve been doing what I do best when I’m on summer break – have people over for dinner. A. Lot. I may joke about my … mild dislike for children (as a general species you understand – I’m sure I’ll love my own, and I love my friend’s kids – but the thought of helping in a kindergarten class makes me want to fling myself screaming into a vat of boiling oil), but I love having sounds in the house of people having fun. I love creating something people like, refilling wine glasses, fetching beers and pretty much everything that comes with entertaining. Minus the clean up.

(I also like my quiet time, which is why any of these dinner parties is accompanied by David retreating to his man room and me unwinding in front of whatever music I happen to be obsessed with at that moment.)

Also, (and I know this may shock many of you) it seems I’ve fallen into a bit of a recipe rut. Back when David and I first got married, we tried one new recipe every week. This was stellar, as we had few flops and MANY favorites out of this idea. So, I’m bringing it back old school, four years later. This week has LOTS of new recipes planned, but for now, I’m going to share a tried and true favorite with you, the result of the “recipe a week” challenge.

This particular meal is easy, can be grilled or roasted and is good at ANY time of the year. It’s a super big fav of the hubs, who requests it at least once every other week (considering the number of new things I cook, that’s pretty popular.) I’ve made it for countless guests and never gotten anything but rave reviews. The best part? It’s healthy. Also, it uses frozen tilapia (cheap and easy). Also, it can be customized based on what you like. So yeah, we’re fans – hope you are too!

You’ll need:

  • 1 package (lb) tilapia
  • 6 red potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 2 cans artichoke hearts, roughly chopped
  • 2-3 handfuls kalamata olives, roughly chopped
  • 4 T capers
  • 4 handfuls green beans/2 bunches broccoli, chopped
  • 2 lemons, juiced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T dijon mustard
  • 2 T olive oil

Get cooking:

  1. The prep is the most taxing part here – the slicing the ingredients. It does take some time, especially if you are not used to working with a knife. Feel free to shred the potatoes in a food processor to make faster work of it, if you like. I just really, really like to cut things.
  2. Spray 4 foil sheets with non-stick spray.
  3. Layer on potatoes, green beans or broccoli, artichokes, olives, capers and fish (in semi-equal portions).
  4. Whisk together last four ingredients and pour over packets.
  5. Top with another layer of foil and seal.
  6. Bake at 400 (or on medium high heat grill) 20 minutes, until potatoes are done.
  7. Eat with relish. 🙂
One thought on “Tilapia packets

Leave a Reply

