I have an obsession with…enchiladas

So here’s the thing. I like to eat lots of different things. I have a few meals that are in constant rotation, but for the most part? I branch out a lot. The one thing, though, that I could eat every week for the rest of my life, without fail, is chicken enchiladas. Really, any Mexican food, but there is something about chicken enchiladas – the spicy red sauce, the creamy center, all that cheese, topped with my homemade guacamole – that makes me GIDDY with delight. I am totally biased and I don’t think any restaurant makes them nearly as well as I do, and really, don’t even GET me started on restaurant guacamole – most of it should be illegal because it’s awful.

A former high school teacher – Tiffany, but really, always Miss Frayer to me, even as a 26-year-old adult – sent me a FB message w hile back asking if I had any enchilada recipes. Poor woman, she had no idea what was coming. I have slow cooker and stove versions, and a huge variety of both. I’m posting my enchilada manifesto below – and you know what? I’m going to tell you how to make slap your mamma guac too, just because it’s such a tragedy that so many people eat so much BAD guacamole.

You’ll need:

Filling

(Any of these can be adjusted based on preference – also can be used without enchilada “stuff” and served with chips as chicken nachos.)

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • Jar of salsa
  • Can of black beans, drained
  • 2-3 red/green/yellow bell peppers, diced
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 block cream cheese or 8 oz shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 T cumin
  • 1 t paprika
  • Cayenne to taste 🙂
  • Oil (if needed)
  • Tortillas
  • 8 oz sharp cheddar

Red sauce

  • 1 28 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 T cumin
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1 t cinnamon – my secret ingredient 😉
  • Cayenne to taste 🙂
  • Oil

Get cooking:

Filling

  1. Slow cooker version – dump 2 chicken breasts into a crock pot with a jar of salsa. Cook over low for 8 hours or high for 4. Shred, add spices, a can of drained black beans, sautéed red/green/yellow pepper, onion and garlic and cheese.
  2. Stove version – saute diced chicken in oil with onion and pepper, add garlic. Then add spices, salsa and cheese.

Sauce

  1. Saute onion in oil until translucent, add garlic and saute until fragrant, add tomatoes and spices and stir.
  2. Put together option 1: Cover bottom of pan in layer of sauce, fill tortillas and put on top. Cover with sauce and add cheese – bake at 350 until cheese melts and inside is warm, about 15-20 minutes.
  3. Option 2: Cover bottom of pan with sauce. Layer in one layer tortillas, followed by one layer of filling, sauce, tortillas, filling until you run out of filling. Top with one more layer of tortillas and the cheese – bake the same amount of time.

Guacamole

(I’m going to write this as if you were making for one person, so one avocado’s worth of “stuff.” Expand as needed.)

You’ll need:

  • 1 avocado, diced
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1/4 red onion, diced fine (red is very important here, to get the right flavor)
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 jalapeno, diced
  • 1/2 roma tomato, diced (if you are a tomato in your guac person – I am not)
  • Salt and cilantro to taste

Get cooking:

  1. Mix ingredients together – I keep the avocado a bit chunky, because I like the texture, but mash if you like.
  2. Let it sit about 10-15 minutes if you can to let everything mingle. If you can’t, I’m not judging.
  3. Serve on enchiladas or with El Matador tortilla chips. (Now, I don’t hock many name brand things. I will swear on a stack of bibles that short of making your own chips from your own homemade tortillas, these are God’s chips. I am certain they serve them in heaven or I don’t want to go there.)
One thought on “I have an obsession with…enchiladas

Leave a Reply

