Busy month

It’s been a busy couple of weeks at work – huge project that consumed all my mind space during the day. I’m really stretching myself to learn the big picture at the office – but the learning can be very draining. In all of that, I’ve been thinking about what I want to be when I grow up…I thought I had it figured out, but I’ve felt shaken recently. I’m really enjoying my current position, but as a planner and a big picture gal, I feel like I need to keep developing and finding my strengths in my niche. Watching how all parts of our department work together to pull off a huge project has helped me realize that I feel like I’ve been floating – I don’t have a niche. Which was fine when I was new in the position, but I feel like now it’s time to hunker down, figure out what I’m good at and find where that fits in the grand scheme of the office.

Grad school’s been another great way to explore many different roles. I have a great group – which is so terribly important because group work is generally horrible, and doing everything over the internet is worse. If I could keep this group throughout my program, I would be thrilled. Right now we’re creating an integrated marketing plan for Chevy to market it’s green cars to people ages 18-30. Wading through research is a new thing for me – since I didn’t do marketing for my undergrad, I missed all the ‘market research’ that is so key to understanding the customer. The great thing is I have student access to a lot of research that would be very expensive if I was at a company. The hard part is finding what’s useful. I’ve never been much of a data nut, so finding the right balance between too much data and not enough has been a learning curve. But our group has gotten perfect marks on every one of our assignments (so far – knock on wood) so apparently we’re doing something right.

On the personal side, David and I are still trying to find a church. We took a break over the holidays because it’s just hard enough to even make it to a service without worrying about where we’re going. We’ve got it narrowed down to two choices – both big churches, both with different focuses. We’re going to start in small groups to get a feel for the community and go from there. The dance lessons are going well, though we’re coming off a two-week break just because we’ve been so busy. It’s a great program, but I think they assume when you sign up that you have the time (and the money) to do a private lesson every week. Dancing’s fun, but we like to do a lot of other things.

And I’m getting to the twitchy point where it’s time to get away. I find about every four months or so I need a vacation to maintain optimal brain function, and I’m starting to feel the need to book a trip. Sadly I don’t have as much vacation time as before, but that just means I’ll have to make use of weekend trips, which is fine with me.

One thought on “Busy month

Leave a Reply

