Happiness

Happiness is a funny thing – most people think something or someone can make you happy. But really, you are the only thing standing in the way of your own happiness. Are there things in life that make you unhappy? You have two choices: accept the situation and move on or change the situation.

Working at Alma was amazing – I loved my job, I worked with great people, I made lots of friends. But I drove 2 hours a day, and so did David. I felt like we never could do much of anything during the week. We lived in Lansing, but we rarely got to go out and enjoy the restaurants or all the events happening (and with MSU so close, there were a lot.)

For the first year I was at Alma, I didn’t think much of it – I was so incredibly blessed and lucky to have such a great job that I didn’t care. But then the year mark hit, and slowly but surely, I noticed I was restless. I couldn’t concentrate, I wanted to sleep all the time and I wasn’t enjoying my job as much. Even though we were only an hour and a half away from home I hated missing out on the little events and hated that when we did go home, it was a huge event.

So I decided it was time to change my situation – I started job searching. I prayed and prayed to find opportunities, and had three interviews for awesome positions – I didn’t get any of them. I was so discouraged, but I kept praying, “God, I know I have it great at work now. I really want a chance to be in Grand Rapids, but it needs to be in Your time and with your hand – I need to know I’m not walking into a bad situation.”

It took me almost a year to find my new job, but the timing was definitely God’s. Both my carpooling buddies had dropped out due to moves. I had just wrapped up a bunch of big projects. The work environment seemed fun and they made me a great offer. And for once, we wouldn’t be moving in the dead of winter (though we did move to a third floor apartment –sorry dad!)

Since the move, it’s amazing how much my mood had changed. I wake up every morning with a smile on my face and go to bed the same. I’m getting back into a workout routine – I even joined a gym! I have a chance to write for myself again. And my new job is teaching me so many new things about marketing. I start grad school in the winter and actually feel like I can juggle it with everything else. I get to see David so much more and I have TWO date nights a week with Colie.

But I think about what it would be like if I couldn’t change the situation – if I kept getting rejected for jobs, or couldn’t move for some reason. I suppose the job searching was always a light at the end of the tunnel – I knew I could get out eventually. But with Michigan’s economy, I was lucky I did. And in the meantime, I kept reminding myself about how lucky I was to have my job, my friends, my husband and left the rest to God. When I did that, even in Lansing, it was amazing how much happier I was.

Leave a Reply

